Reluctantly campaign fund-raising begins for “Farnham for US Senate”

Plan A was that social media would erupt in response to my proposals for a guaranteed minimum income for persons legally in the country (which costs about the same as the controlled dole method we currently use but leaves far less than the current 12 million plus Americas in deep poverty) and to impoverish the drug lords and take profit driven marketing out of recreational pharmaceuticals by ending the drug war and making everything legal.

(If you haven’t heard me speak about why those both work, look to this blog. My son is getting married this weekend, but I’ll have detailed posting on each of my key proposals by the end of next week. I look forward to addressing your comments and questions.)

But Plan A is not in evidence.

So, reluctantly, I have filed notice of a campaign committee with the state of NH (and I will file with the FEC within the allotted time if I cross the $5,000 aggregate contribution limit). I’ve also cleared my paypal account at mwf@rsiz.com down to zero dollars so I can immediately begin accepting donations electronically without co-mingling funds.

The name of the campaign committee is “Farnham for US Senate”.

If you want to send physical checks, send them to:

Farnham for US Senate
c/o Mark W. Farnham
36 West Street
Lebanon, NH 03766

 The feds have different levels of identification required for different sizes of contributions. For consistency and transparency, I am going to ask that you give me the full identification for any contribution (and expect this to be posted to the feds, the state, and on my reports). I think the voting public has a right to know who has sent me money even though that does not imply they agree with me or I agree with them about anything.

“For contributions exceeding $200, the complete identification of the contributor (full name and mailing address, occupation and employer), as well as the amount and date of receipt of the contribution.”

I’ll know the amounts and dates of receipt. But please include your full legal name, mailing address, occupation, and employer if you send me a check.

I’m not going to deal with cash coming into the campaign coffers. If I get cash, it will be recorded and immediately donated to the Lebanon United Methodist Church simply because that is the easiest rule to comply with about anonymous cash receipts. (Any legal purpose not related to the campaign.)

If you want to send money to the campaign via paypal, again, the mwf@rsiz.com account has been set aside for that purpose. Please use the subject line “Farnham for US Senate” and include your full legal name, mailing address, occupation, and employer in the comment space.

I will be returning funds I cannot identify.

Now – how do I plan to use the funds?

First, what I will *not* do:

1) Litter the roadsides with banners with my name. If you’re swayed more by how many times you see a name than my ideas and what I will push in the Senate, you are probably not going to vote for me.

2) Phone calls, robot dialing, push polls, or a bunch of post cards in your mailbox or hangers on your door knobs. These are apparently all great on the ground tactics, but I just cannot stand being associated with making those interruptions and generating that waste and litter. (The only phone calls I plan to make are to editors and the like to schedule interviews and see if any reporters want to directly ask me questions. Those will all be me, in person, and not some recording.)

3) Spam mail (e- or snail). Possibly by request I’ll have available printed hard copy of my principles, polices, and proposals available, but I hope to minimize my campaign’s footprint on the environment as much as possible.

4) Anything else that seems to me like an unwanted intrusion.

Now, what I will do:

1) Buy those cute little text boxes “transaction ads” and classified advertising in newspapers featuring the url to this blog and specific posts on this blog and my youtube account “pudge1954.”

2) Travel expenses and reception type food and beverage to any gathering that will have me (probably first come, first served, with a preference for places I get to talk at least a half hour and then answer questions over “debates” where I get one twelfth of the elapsed time and might end up spending 90 minutes for an aggregate of 8 minutes of communication. If we get to the general election, I suppose getting half of the time when the moderator is not speaking will be sufficient.) Still, I’m not saying no to any debates, just a preference for me getting to give folks a serious overview of an issue instead of a calculated sound bit.

3) Keeping my campaign finance transparent and in compliance with all the rules. (The State of NH online campaign finance guide is so big I have yet to successfully download a full copy.) Once the fund raising total reaches $500 I need to report to NH. And once it reaches $5,000 I need to report to the Feds.

One more thing – I do not want aggregate contributions exceeding $1,000 from anyone. Anything in excess of $1,000 will be returned as soon as I figure out that it was over $1,000 in aggregate from one source.

If you think my ideas are good or if you just think they should get a full airing whether or not you agree with any or all of them, please consider a contribution.

Mark W. Farnham

New Hampshire Republican for US Senate

 

About rsiz

Father and Husband, Oracle Technology Scientist and Consultant, planning to end poverty for citizens and legal US residents Lebanon, NH · http://www.rsiz.com See my wife's puzzles at thingamajigsaw.com
This entry was posted in politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

